My Access Home NIC Cosmetology NIC Nail Technology NIC Esthetics NIC Barber Styling NIC Hair Design NIC Electrology NIC Permanent CosmeticsPSI National CosmetologyPSI National Nail TechnicianTX ManicuristTX CosmetologyTX EstheticianTX Class A BarberPSI National EstheticianCA BarberEspañolTiếng Việt한국어中文 Our Difference Us vs. By State Schools Resources Blog Influencers ShopRewards
Buyer's guide · Updated August 2026

nicprep.com
vs the rest

A side-by-side look at the three most common exam prep options — what each offers, what it costs, and where each is strongest. The clearest difference is coverage: the other two prepare you for the NIC national exam, while California and Texas set their own. We build to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology's April 2026 outline and to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation's, as separate courses. We built nicprep.com so we obviously think it's the best, but we've kept this factual and fair — and left a competitor's cell blank rather than guess at it.

3
Options compared
June '26
Updated
Factual
& fair

View the thrdwn report → (thrdwn is a sister site under the same ownership as nicprep.com)

Our recommendation
nicprep.com
All NIC modalities plus PSI National and Texas, AI study tutor, Spanish, Vietnamese and Korean editions, offline capable, $49 lifetime bundle with 60-day pass guarantee.
Best for print learners
Mometrix
Established publisher since 2009 with printed study guides and online course. Covers cosmetology + esthetics. No AI tutor, no offline mode.
Lowest entry price
Cosmetology Guru
$49 for one month, $74 lifetime. Four modalities, 600 questions, six simulated exams. Bulk school pricing available. No AI tutor, no flashcards, no Spanish edition advertised.
Exam Coverage
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
NIC CosmetologyYesYesYes
NIC EstheticsYesYesYes
NIC Nail TechnologyYesYesNo
NIC Barber StylingYesYesNo
NIC Hair DesignYesNoNo
NIC ElectrologyYesNoNo
NIC Permanent CosmeticsYesNoNo
PSI National — Cosmetology PSI’s own National programme · seven statesYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
PSI National — Esthetician PSI’s own National programme · seven statesYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
California — Barber Board of Barbering and CosmetologyYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
PSI National — Manicurist PSI’s own National programme · seven statesYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Manicurist Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Cosmetology Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Esthetician Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Barber Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Built to the exam’s own outlinePSI National Apr 2026 · TX TDLR/PSINIC-onlyNIC-only
Questions per NIC course1,100600Not disclosed
Study in your languageSpanish, Vietnamese, Korean & ChineseNot advertisedNo
Included in the priceYes — same course, no upchargePaid add-on
Study Features
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Practice tests (timed simulation)YesYesYes
Study mode (instant feedback)YesYesYes
AI Study TutorClaude-poweredNoNo
Flashcards (domain-stacked)Digital, filterableNo$43.99
Flashcards — learn and recall directionBoth, progress sharedNoNo
Full rationale on every questionRight + wrong explainedYesYes
Score by domain breakdownYesUnknownUnknown
Cross-device progress syncYesUnknownUnknown
Works offlineYes (PWA)NoNo
Retake any testFresh shuffleUnlimited retakesUnknown
Timed to the real clock90 or 120 min, per exam90 minUnknown
AI support assistant access, devices, reportingYesNoNo
Free preview (no signup)10 questions — NIC, PSI National, Texas, all four languages20 questionsLimited
Printed study guideDigital onlyNoPrint + ebook
Pricing & Access
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Full bundle$49 NIC · $59 state$74 lifetime · $49 one month$72.99 list · $44.99 sale
Access durationLifetimeLifetimeVaries
Subscription requiredNoNoNo
Refund policy14-day unconditional100% money-backUnknown
Pass guarantee60-dayImpliedNo
School/bulk licensingYes — class codesBulk codesNo
For Schools & Instructors
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Bulk / class licensingYesBulk codesNo
Students redeem with their own loginOwn account per seatUnknownNo
Self-serve seat purchaseInstant, onlineUnknownNo
Class codes emailed instantlyYesUnknownNo
Volume discountTiered pricing by cohort sizeUnknownNo
Minimum order5 seatsUnknown
Courses available per seatAll 7 NIC, plus PSI National and TexasUnknownNo
Instructor admin consoleYesUnknownNo
Free instructor seatYes — lifetimeUnknownNo
Seat deactivation on refundYesUnknownNo
For Creators & Affiliates
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Partner / affiliate programmeYesUnknownUnknown
Commission20% of every saleUnknownUnknown
Paid up front, not spread over monthsYesUnknownUnknown
Referral window60-day cookieUnknownUnknown
PayoutMonthly direct deposit over $25UnknownUnknown
Caps or quotasNoneUnknownUnknown
Self-serve dashboardYes — live earningsUnknownUnknown
Content Methodology
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Built from the official exam outlineNIC CIB 2026 · PSI National Apr 2026 · TX TDLRClaims "actual test bank"NIC-aligned
Domain-weighted to real examPer exam — NIC and state weightings differUnknownUnknown
Statistical validation6 construction standardsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Answer-length balancedNo length tellsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Position balanced (no B-bias)YesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Rationale explains wrong answersEach option addressedYesYes
Platform & Experience
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Mobile + desktop responsiveYesYesYes
Works offline (subway, break room)PWA, auto-syncRequires connectionRequires connection
Install as app (no App Store)YesNoNo
State licensing guidesAll 50 states + DCSelect statesNo
Years in market2026 (new)Since 2010Since 2009

Try it free — 10 questions, no signup

See the question quality, the rationales, and the AI tutor for yourself.

Try the free preview →

Competitor figures were checked against each provider's own product pages on 19 August 2026. Prices there change without notice, so verify before relying on them. nicprep.com is our product — we've tried to be accurate and fair, but we're not a neutral party. Where we couldn't verify a competitor's feature, we marked it as "Unknown" rather than guessing. If you spot an error, please let us know and we'll correct it. Competitor names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Stay exam-ready.

2026 CIB changes, domain study tips, and new-modality launches — a few emails a month, no spam.